Recently, HBO Asia, got the chance to have a chat with Jeremy Irons who plays Adrian Veidt AKA Ozymandias in the series. (The transcript of the interview was sent to me via email.) When asked what went through his mind when he was first approached about the project, Irons said he was kinda seduced and overwhelmed by Damon Lindelof’s presence.  

And I knew that my function was to have a parallel story for a lot of the time and I was interested to know how that way of storytelling would work – and of course won’t know until it completely goes out. I liked Nicki [Nicole Kassell], who I met, who was my first director on it, and, you know, you’ve just got to go with your gut on a lot of things.  Some things you win on, some things you lose on.  But I thought we’d got as good a chance as any really with this. And, I thought, if Damon attracts me with his enthusiasm he’s going to attract other people and I think he’s got quite a good cast together.  I mean, the people I worked with subsequently were really very impressive and the two actors I worked with a lot, Sara and Tom, were wonderful. We had a huge amount of fun. We shot in Wales.” Irons also talked a little bit about the character he’s playing and how it differs slightly from the comics. Catch Watchmen on HBO (Astro Ch 411 / 431 HD) OR HBO Go (the uncensored version) at 9 am every Monday. 

Watchmen  Jeremy Irons Discusses His Character Ozymandias and Damon Lindelof s Seductive Personality - 66